North East Cup Final – Sharks vs Knights

The final of the North East cup was played between the Bon Accord Knights and the Teflon Sharks on Tuesday 17th May 2016. The Knights won the toss and opted for white on boards 1 and 3. The result was as follows:

Teflon Sharks Bon Accord Knights
1 B Jeremy Mitchell 1794 0 1 Duncan Harwood 1950
2 W Alan Smith 1653 0 1 Neil Irving 1748
3 B Ross Brennan 1634 1 0 Ricky Telford 1633
4 W Duncan McClymont 1227 0 1 John Ewen 1568
1 3

Congratulations to the Bon Accord Knights 2016 North East league and cup champions.

BP Cup Final

The BP cup final was played on Tuesday 12th May at Ferryhill community centre between the Bon Accord Bishops and the Teflon Sharks. The result was a decisive win for the Bishops.

Bon Accord Bishops Teflon Sharks
1 W Mike Cavanagh 1856 1 0 Jeremy Mitchell 1812
2 B Richard Jennings 1812 1 0 Ross Brennan 1670
3 W Ian Grieve 1445 0 1 Eric Davidson 1669
4 B Sean Milton 1112 1 0 Vagif Ramazanov 1398
3 1

Congratulations to Bon Accord Bishops the 2015 BP cup champions.

BP Cup Semi Final – Bon Accord Bishops vs Peterhead

The BP cup semi-final between the Bon Accord Bishops and Peterhead took place on Tuesday 5th May. The Bishops were significant favourites by rating, but Peterhead were fielding a very good (and underrated) ringer in Callum Smith on board 3. The first game to finish was on board 4 where Dominic Troman won fairly quickly against Atharva Dabholkar. On board 3 Callum Smith duly won a complex game against Ian Grieve leaving Peterhead 2-0 up with two games to go. On board 1 Mike Cavanagh had a better position and more time against Chris Rose, and won fairly easily. The most interesting game was on board 2 where Malcolm MacMillan had a very good (quite possibly winning) position against Richard Jennings. Although Richard was in severe time trouble he managed to outplay his opponent and reached a drawish ending where each side had a pawn, a rook and a bishop. Only needing half a point to win the match Malcolm unfortunately put his bishop en-prise, and Richard checkmated him with less than 2 minutes left on the clock.

The 2-2 draw leaves the Bishops going through to the BP cup final on board count.

Bon Accord Bishops Peterhead
1 W Mike Cavanagh 1856 1 0 Chris Rose 1435
2 B Richard Jennings 1820 1 0 Malcolm MacMillan 1105
3 W Ian Grieve 1445 0 1 Callum Smith 1057
4 B Atharva Dabholkar 810 0 1 Dominic Troman 1093
2 2


BP Cup Semi Final – Bon Accord Knights vs Teflon Sharks

The BP cup semi-final between the Bon Accord Knights and the Teflon Sharks took place on Tuesday 5th May. The Sharks were only able to field three players, so the Knights won board four by default. Eric Davidson evened the score with a fine attacking win with black against John Ewen. This left the Knights needing at 1.5 points from the top two games, but the board 2 game between Ross Brennan and Ricky Telford ended in a blocked position where neither could make progress, and on board 1 Duncan Harwood could only draw a pawn down against Jeremy Mitchell. The 2-2 draw leaves the Teflon Sharks going through on board count.

Bon Accord Knights Teflon Sharks
1 W Duncan Harwood 1988 0.5 0.5 Jeremy Mitchell 1812
2 B Ricky Telford 1639 0.5 0.5 Ross Brennan 1670
3 W John Ewen 1619 0 1 Eric Davidson 1669
4 B Win by default 1 0 Default
2 2


BP Cup Round 1 – Teflon Sharks vs Newmachar

The first round match of the BP cup between the Teflon Sharks and Newmachar was played at Ferryhill community centre on Tuesday 7th April 2015. Thanks to Jeremy Mitchell for providing information for the following report.

The match seems to have been exceptionally close. On board 1 Jeremy Mitchell drew with Joy Durno quite quickly. Eric Davidson then lost a winning (or at least drawn) position to Gerald Lobley. Tariq Pasha somehow won from a losing position against Steve Sawaryn on board 3. This left the match tied at 1.5 each with only the board 4 game to go.

On board 4 Stuthi Hegde was a pawn up in a king and pawn endgame against Ayo Suberu when she blundered a pawn. She then offered a draw but her opponent declined, not realising that a draw would be good enough for Newmachar to go through on board count. Further play resulted in a pawn race which should have been drawn but Ayo played a queen check while he was still in check from Stuthi’s queen, so he had to swap queens leaving Stuthi with a won king and g pawn against king. Stuthi got her king to the 6th rank, but then retreated the king and pushed the pawn so the position was once again drawn. However at this point Ayo’s flag fell, so he lost.

Teflon Sharks
1 B Jeremy Mitchell 1812 0.5 0.5 Joy Durno 1732
2 W Eric Davidson 1669 0 1 Gerald Lobley 1649
3 B Tariq Pasha 1192 1 0 Steve Sawaryn 1453
4 W Stuthi Hegde 1084 1 0 Ayo Suberu  U/G
2.5 1.5

BP Cup Round 1 – Stonehaven vs Knights

The first round match of the BP cup between Stonehaven and Knights was played at Newtonhill on Wednesday 8th April 2015.

The match was extremely closely fought. Leston D’Costa defeated his less experienced opponent fairly quickly, and just after the time control Duncan Harwood won his game against Bruce Harrold leaving the Knights 2-0 ahead. However on boards 2 and 3 things were not looking promising for the Knights: on board 2 Neil Irving had blundered an exchange in the opening against Pat Coffield, and his final move before the time control had left a completely lost bishop vs rook endgame. Meanwhile on board 3 John Ewen having had a probably winning position earlier in the game against David Bridges was faced by a lost king and pawn ending. This would have left the Knights eliminated from the competition at the first hurdle. Fortunately for the Knights David Bridges made some mistakes and John Ewen was able to win his ending and thus clinching the match. Pat Coffield then recorded a consolation win for Stonehaven.

Stonehaven Bon Accord Knights
1 B Bruce Harrold 1671 0 1 Duncan Harwood 1988
2 W Pat Coffield 1452 1 0 Neil Irving 1644
3 B David Bridges 1235 0 1 John Ewen 1619
4 W Robbie Williamson U/G 0 1 Leston D’Costa  1421
1 3